User Override

User Overrides enable you to change the appearance of an application to fit the needs of your business. For some user overrides, such as an object linking and embedding (OLE) attachment to a form, no consequences exist when you upgrade your software because your user overrides are merged into the new release. For other user overrides, such as grid or toolbar formats, the system gives you the options of reconciling your user overrides with the new software or deleting your user overrides.

A user override changes only the appearance of an application; it does not affect the application’s functions. You can set overrides by user ID, role, or the keyword *PUBLIC. If you set your override by user ID, only that user is affected when he or she signs on to any workstation in the enterprise. If you set your overrides by role, those users who are set up within User Profiles to be members of that group are affected. If you set your user overrides by *PUBLIC, all users in the enterprise are affected. After you create an override for a role or *PUBLIC, each employee inherits that override, regardless of the workstation he or she signs on to. Even with role or *PUBLIC overrides, each employee can further customize a version to fit individual needs. For example, if someone in a department has trouble seeing text on a form, he or she can switch to a larger font. This change applies only to the individual, not to the entire group or company.

Download Tooltip Pro

Leave a Reply